"Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

General discussion of Mantis.

Moderators: Contributor, Developer

"Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

Postby didaquis » Nov 28, 2016 9:27 am

Hi.
I would like to know if "Time tracking" function works correctly in the new version 2.0.
I have seen by default this function is disabled and I used the documentation for activate (https://www.mantisbt.org/manual/admin.p ... cking.html), but I'm not sure if this function is supported officially.

Can anyone give me some information?

Thank you!
didaquis
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Nov 28, 2016 9:16 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: "Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

Postby atrol » Nov 28, 2016 9:37 am

Time Tracking should work in Mantis 2.0.x (keep in mind that 2.0.0 stable has not been officially released yet)
Enter a bug report if you should find any issue at http://www.mantisbt.org/bugs

BTW, you should use the manual that comes with Mantis 2.0 (WIP, it's still nearly the same wthat we have for 1.3) .
The link you provided goes to an outdated 1.2.x documentation.
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual
Use Mantis2Go to try MantisBT on Windows or to reproduce issues
atrol
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6714
Joined: Mar 26, 2008 4:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: "Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

Postby didaquis » Nov 28, 2016 3:14 pm

Hi, thanks for your help.

In the documentation of 1.3 version you can reed "This is currently a work in progress." when talk about Time Tracking. https://www.mantisbt.org/docs/master-1. ... metracking and http://www.mantisbt.org/wiki/doku.php/m ... issue:4428

This is what makes me doubt. Does it really work properly?
didaquis
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Nov 28, 2016 9:16 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: "Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

Postby atrol » Nov 29, 2016 2:35 am

didaquis wrote:you can reed "This is currently a work in progress."
This is outdated information which needs to be fixed.
http://www.mantisbt.org/bugs/view.php?id=4428 is set to closed/fixed, which means that it has been implemented.

didaquis wrote:Does it really work properly?
I don't use it myself, but I think it should work.
I found that time tracking has been announced as deprecated http://www.mantisbt.org/blog/?p=443
I am a bit astonished about that, as there are some bigger Mantis installations that use Time Tracking.

I will discuss it with other Mantis developers and will let you know the results.
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual
Use Mantis2Go to try MantisBT on Windows or to reproduce issues
atrol
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6714
Joined: Mar 26, 2008 4:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: "Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

Postby didaquis » Nov 29, 2016 2:42 am

atrol wrote:I found that time tracking has been announced as deprecated http://www.mantisbt.org/blog/?p=443
I am a bit astonished about that, as there are some bigger Mantis installations that use Time Tracking.

I will discuss it with other Mantis developers and will let you know the results.


I appreciate your help.

If Time tracking still deprecated, our company maybe will not use Mantis anymore. It's a shame, we've used this tool for years!
didaquis
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Nov 28, 2016 9:16 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: "Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

Postby atrol » Dec 03, 2016 11:57 am

I opened https://www.mantisbt.org/bugs/view.php?id=22004 to track the documentation issue.

One of the core developers is very interested in keeping Time Tracking, thus it will hardly be removed in future.
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual
Use Mantis2Go to try MantisBT on Windows or to reproduce issues
atrol
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6714
Joined: Mar 26, 2008 4:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: "Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

Postby didaquis » Dec 05, 2016 9:16 am

Thank you!
didaquis
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Nov 28, 2016 9:16 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: "Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

Postby didaquis » Jan 02, 2017 6:43 am

I'm reading the official announcement of MantisBT 2.0 and Victor Boctor wrote about function "Time Tracking".
Seems like is marked how "deprecated".

:?
didaquis
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Nov 28, 2016 9:16 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: "Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

Postby atrol » Jan 02, 2017 7:55 am

Seems Victor just copy/pasted old announcement and forgot to remove deprecation of time tracking.
I asked him to change the blog.
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual
Use Mantis2Go to try MantisBT on Windows or to reproduce issues
atrol
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6714
Joined: Mar 26, 2008 4:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: "Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

Postby atrol » Jan 02, 2017 5:34 pm

Please use Search before posting and read the Manual
Use Mantis2Go to try MantisBT on Windows or to reproduce issues
atrol
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6714
Joined: Mar 26, 2008 4:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: "Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

Postby didaquis » Jan 03, 2017 5:03 am

Thank you!
didaquis
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Nov 28, 2016 9:16 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: "Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

Postby malika » Feb 03, 2017 12:39 am

Can we track time again? Actually I want to track time on Mantis 2.0
malika
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 03, 2017 12:33 am

Re: "Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

Postby didaquis » Feb 03, 2017 4:31 am

malika wrote:Can we track time again? Actually I want to track time on Mantis 2.0



Yes! You need activate this option. On your config_inc.php file add this line:
Code: Select all
$g_time_tracking_enabled = ON;
didaquis
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Nov 28, 2016 9:16 am
Location: Barcelona

Re: "Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

Postby epenet » Feb 09, 2017 6:27 am

Hello,

I too have enabled the time tracking on 2.1.0. It was indeed as simple as amending the config_inc.php to set $g_time_tracking_enabled = ON;

However, I have a need for two features:
1. ability to set the date of the work (eg. I worked 4 hours YESTERDAY on this issue.)
2. ability to set a custom tracking field (eg. research, dev, testing...)

Is this available as part of the time tracker? or maybe as part of the main application?

Thank you!
epenet
epenet
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Feb 09, 2017 6:19 am

Re: "Time tracking" on Mantis 2.0 ??

Postby didaquis » Feb 09, 2017 10:50 am

epenet wrote:Is this available as part of the time tracker? or maybe as part of the main application?


I think, you will need to develop a plugin for that.
didaquis
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Nov 28, 2016 9:16 am
Location: Barcelona

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests