Error during installation

Get help from other users here.

Moderators: Developer, Contributor

Post Reply
jweinraub
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Feb 2007, 15:42

Error during installation

Post by jweinraub »

I received the latest 2.5.1 version from sourceforge. I am having issues on my production server (RHEL). It works fine on my test server (which is Debian),

The install page redirects to a page that doesn't exist.

/var/log/httpd/access_log shows

Code: Select all

10.18.66.10 - - [26/Jun/2017:12:06:54 -0400] "GET /mantis/admin/core/install.php HTTP/1.1" 404 39520 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/60.0.3112.40 Safari/537.36"
10.18.66.10 - - [26/Jun/2017:12:10:57 -0400] "GET /mantis/admin/core/install.php HTTP/1.1" 404 227 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/60.0.3112.40 Safari/537.36"
10.18.66.10 - - [26/Jun/2017:12:11:03 -0400] "GET /mantis/admin/core/install.php HTTP/1.1" 404 227 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/60.0.3112.40 Safari/537.36"
10.18.1.30 - - [26/Jun/2017:12:11:43 -0400] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200 39073 "-" "check_http/v2.1.4 (nagios-plugins 2.1.4)"
10.18.66.10 - - [26/Jun/2017:12:11:45 -0400] "GET /mantis/ HTTP/1.1" 307 20 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/60.0.3112.40 Safari/537.36"
10.18.66.10 - - [26/Jun/2017:12:11:45 -0400] "GET /mantis/admin/core/install.php HTTP/1.1" 404 227 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/60.0.3112.40 Safari/537.36"
10.18.1.30 - - [26/Jun/2017:12:16:43 -0400] "GET / HTTP/1.1" 200 39073 "-" "check_http/v2.1.4 (nagios-plugins 2.1.4)"
The problem did not occur on my test server. Why is the server redirecting to a non-existent installation page?
atrol
Site Admin
Posts: 8366
Joined: 26 Mar 2008, 21:37
Location: Germany

Re: Error during installation

Post by atrol »

jweinraub wrote:Why is the server redirecting to a non-existent installation page?
I don't see a server redirecting.

I see your browser asking for a non existing page.

Code: Select all

10.18.66.10 - - [26/Jun/2017:12:06:54 -0400] "GET /mantis/admin/core/install.php HTTP/1.1" 404 39520 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/60.0.3112.40 Safari/537.36"
It should be

Code: Select all

GET /mantis/admin/install.php
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual
jweinraub
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Feb 2007, 15:42

Re: Error during installation

Post by jweinraub »

When I type in the proper URI, the webpage redirects then, I don't know what to say, I type it in, and the address bar is not what I keyed in...
jweinraub
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Feb 2007, 15:42

Re: Error during installation

Post by jweinraub »

If I type in http://server/mantis the address bar then says soon as I press enter, mantis/admin/core/install.php
which clearly doesnt exist.

If I key in /mantis/admin/install.php it also redirects to the one shown in the log, which obviously 404s.

Why?

The same tarball I scp'ed to my test server does NOT do this behaviour.
jweinraub
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Feb 2007, 15:42

Re: Error during installation

Post by jweinraub »

Looks like I did not show enough access log.

Code: Select all

10.18.66.10 - - [26/Jun/2017:11:29:38 -0400] "GET /mantis HTTP/1.1" 301 238 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/60.0.3112.32 Safari/537.36"
10.18.66.10 - - [26/Jun/2017:11:29:39 -0400] "GET /mantis/admin/install.php HTTP/1.1" 301 260 "-" "Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 10.0; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/60.0.3112.32 Safari/537.36"
right there, code 301!
jweinraub
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Feb 2007, 15:42

Re: Error during installation

Post by jweinraub »

Anybody? I could really use a second pair of eyes in this as I have no problem installing this on three different servers, so I dont know why it keeps redirecting on this one.
atrol
Site Admin
Posts: 8366
Joined: 26 Mar 2008, 21:37
Location: Germany

Re: Error during installation

Post by atrol »

Did you check that you are able to start any PHP script that is stored in the Mantis root directory?

e.g. create a file hello.php in Mantis root directory with the following content

Code: Select all

<?php
echo "Hello"
and enter http://server/mantis/hello.php in your browser

Does it redirect, or do you see "Hello" in your browser?
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual
jweinraub
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Feb 2007, 15:42

Re: Error during installation

Post by jweinraub »

Hello gets displayed, it does not redirect.
atrol
Site Admin
Posts: 8366
Joined: 26 Mar 2008, 21:37
Location: Germany

Re: Error during installation

Post by atrol »

Is there any difference of access rights, owner or group between hello.php and the files and folders from Mantis?
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual
jweinraub
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Feb 2007, 15:42

Re: Error during installation

Post by jweinraub »

No.

Code: Select all

drwxr-xr-x. 2 root root   4096 Jun 17 17:46 fonts
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root     26 Jul  5 11:39 hello.php
-rw-r--r--. 1 root root   3477 Jun 17 17:46 history_inc.php
jweinraub
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Feb 2007, 15:42

Re: Error during installation

Post by jweinraub »

Permisions seem fine. What is weird, when I extracted the tarball it was owned by user 1001, even though I extracted it as root. I did recursively chown as root, though, made no difference. It still redirects to /core/ even though I don't see that anywhere in the admin/install.php code. I saw on the main index.php where the redirects occur, and there is no .htaccess telling it to do so as well. I don't understand why this works fine on an older RHEL system, and a new Debian system. I cannot seem to find why this doesn't work.
jweinraub
Posts: 14
Joined: 09 Feb 2007, 15:42

Re: Error during installation

Post by jweinraub »

any other help suggestions are appreciated. the nightly build behaves the same way. other php apps do NOT fail on my server. clearly somewhere in the code does this . but why?
Post Reply