Point current mantis to a blank new database

General discussion of Mantis.

Moderators: Contributor, Developer

Point current mantis to a blank new database

Postby karishma » Sep 21, 2017 4:06 am

I am currently running mantis 1.1.8 on php 5.5.9 ubuntu14.
We want to start the mantis database fresh new, is it ok to just backup the old database, and create a brand new database with no users/data?

Is there any dependency of the way mantis runs on the database?
karishma
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Apr 08, 2015 2:39 am

Re: Point current mantis to a blank new database

Postby atrol » Sep 21, 2017 9:19 am

Backup config_inc.php and remove it. After that start the admin/install.php script to create a new empty database.

But why do you want to start with a complete outdated MantisBT 1.1.8 instead of the latest 2.6?
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual
Use Mantis2Go to try MantisBT on Windows or to reproduce issues
atrol
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6714
Joined: Mar 26, 2008 4:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Point current mantis to a blank new database

Postby karishma » Sep 24, 2017 8:02 pm

Thanks for your reply.

Yes i am also considering upgrading the mantis altogether.

1)Will my old backed-up db be able to plugin and run on the newer version?
2)Can I run 2 different versions of the mantis on one server (to be able to access the old data)
karishma
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Apr 08, 2015 2:39 am

Re: Point current mantis to a blank new database

Postby atrol » Sep 25, 2017 3:38 pm

karishma wrote:1)Will my old backed-up db be able to plugin and run on the newer version?
No, but it's no big deal to upgrade the database https://www.mantisbt.org/docs/master/en ... ll.upgrade

karishma wrote:2)Can I run 2 different versions of the mantis on one server (to be able to access the old data)
You can, but you have to setup two different PHP versions on one system for it.
I recommend to use just one version, but upgrade the old data as described under 1)
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual
Use Mantis2Go to try MantisBT on Windows or to reproduce issues
atrol
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6714
Joined: Mar 26, 2008 4:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Point current mantis to a blank new database

Postby karishma » Sep 26, 2017 7:55 pm

thanks so much atrol!
karishma
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Apr 08, 2015 2:39 am

Re: Point current mantis to a blank new database

Postby karishma » Sep 29, 2017 9:37 am

atrol wrote:
karishma wrote:1)Will my old backed-up db be able to plugin and run on the newer version?
No, but it's no big deal to upgrade the database https://www.mantisbt.org/docs/master/en ... ll.upgrade

karishma wrote:2)Can I run 2 different versions of the mantis on one server (to be able to access the old data)
You can, but you have to setup two different PHP versions on one system for it.
I recommend to use just one version, but upgrade the old data as described under 1)


Can I confirm something, is upgrading database different from upgrading mantis version? What is the purpose of upgrading database without the mantis version upgrade?
karishma
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Apr 08, 2015 2:39 am

Re: Point current mantis to a blank new database

Postby atrol » Sep 29, 2017 10:21 am

karishma wrote:What is the purpose of upgrading database without the mantis version upgrade?
That makes no sense.
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual
Use Mantis2Go to try MantisBT on Windows or to reproduce issues
atrol
Site Admin
 
Posts: 6714
Joined: Mar 26, 2008 4:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Point current mantis to a blank new database

Postby karishma » Nov 13, 2017 10:14 am

I am attempting to update database using the current 1.1.8 mantis (I cant upgrade the version due to infrastructure issues here),
So i removed the config file and running install.php, and i get this error:


Code: Select all
Schema CreateTableSQL ( )   BAD
CREATE TABLE ( email_id INTEGER UNSIGNED NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT, email VARCHAR(64) NOT NULL DEFAULT '', subject VARCHAR(250) NOT NULL DEFAULT '', submitted DATETIME NOT NULL DEFAULT '1970-01-01 00:00:01', metadata LONGTEXT NOT NULL, body LONGTEXT NOT NULL, PRIMARY KEY (email_id) )ENGINE=MyISAM
You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '( email_id INTEGER UNSIGNED NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT, email ' at line 1


Mysql version is 5.5.43, and I suspect the install.php is using a different version mysql.
I had a few other mysql errors too which i was able to rectify, but I cant figure this one out.
Appreciate if anyone can help.
karishma
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Apr 08, 2015 2:39 am

Re: Point current mantis to a blank new database

Postby karishma » Nov 19, 2017 7:52 am

I found my solution.
My server is running 5.5.43 mysql and the mantis install script was looking for 4.0.
I commented out the create table commands for the 4 tables it was giving error for at the schema.php. I also commented out the check for the mysql ver 4.0.1.

Installation is done now.
karishma
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Apr 08, 2015 2:39 am


Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests